Return to Headlines

Columbia Long Distance Class of 2018 Closes Out Strong Four Year Run

The Columbia High School Class of 2018 boys’ long distance team

The Columbia High School Class of 2018 boys’ long distance team closed out their strong four year run on May 30th with an appearance at the 11th Annual Holmdel Twilight Series Season Ender. All seven of the senior team members ran well in the 1600 meter (metric mile) races.  Edward Martinez led the way for the Cougars with a 4:32 race with Jon Salinardo and Tim Depue also breaking 4:40.

The Class of 2018 team dates back to the summer of 2014 when long time Columbia coach Lisa Morgan welcomed incoming freshmen David Ives, Tim Depue, Ricky Hankey, Edward Martinez, and Jon Salinardo to the cross country team.  Avery Coreschi (2016) and Jack O’Connell (2017) rounded out the team as they made the move from soccer to cross country.

In cross country Columbia advanced to three consecutive Group 4 final races beginning in 2015 in Coach Morgan’s last season and followed with appearances in 2016 and 2017 under current coach Chris Faraone. In 2016, the Cougars won both the Essex County and Super Essex Conference cross country championships.

There were also a number of memorable individual performances over the last four years including David Ives at 16:04 in the 5000 meters, Jack O’Connell at 4:25 in the 1600 meters, Tim Depue at 9:54 in the 3200 meters, Jon Salinardo at 1:59 in 800 meters, Avery Coreschi with 4:31 in the 1600 meters, and Ricky Hankey at 9:59 in the 3200 meters.

All seven members of the class of 2018 long distance team will be competing at the collegiate level beginning this fall:  Avery Coreschi (Oberlin), Tim Depue (Charleston Southern), Ricky Hankey (Rowan), David Ives (SUNY Geneseo), Edward Martinez (Ursinus), Jack O’Connell (Fordham), and Jon Salinardo (Hartford).   


In the above picture: Class of 2018 cross country and long distance track team taken at the Cougar Classic track meet last week are (left to right): Tim Depue, Avery Coreschi, Ricky Hankey, Jack O’Connell, Edward Martinez, David Ives, and Jon Salinardo